doing something right

As a parent I am always praying that I can teach my children the right things.

Growing up most of my life in the suburbs of Seattle, I’ve learned being a sports fan here is not always easy.  One thing I really want to instill in my kids is loyalty.  By that I mean I want them to enjoy rooting for the home team no matter how well they do.  I really don’t want them to go up as ‘fair weather fans’.  Seeing how the Seattle sports teams have done this year there were lots of opportunities to display this to them, and Andy has joined me in watching many games on TV.

This afternoon when I turned on the NFL playoffs Andy just started cheering for the Seahawks.  It didn’t seem to matter to him that they weren’t even playing, he just kept chanting “Go Seahawks!” and “I want the Seahawks to win.”  I guess I’m doing something right, because he’s becoming a Seahawks (and Mariners) fan in spite of their poor performance this year.  Just on of the small joys in a parents life.

~ by Michael Sorensen on January 4, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
