the big apple

When I first heard that ABC was airing a Lost clip show this week I disappointed. Since I was going to be on the East Coast, I had been looking forward being able to watch Lost three hours early, and then maybe watch it again with the West Coast feed.

Since I wasn’t really excited about the Lost clip show, after my meeting wrapped up on Wednesday night I decided that I would head into ‘The Big Apple’ for the evening. After looking at the transit maps I decided that I would just try my hand at driving into the city. With my trusty Garmin in hand I jumped into the rental car and started the drive. I wasn’t exactly sure what I wanted to see in the city, so I just set it to navigate to Times Square. It directed me to drive south and cross into New York thru the Lincoln tunnel.img_0312

Once into the city, I searched around and found a reasonalble place to park. And just so I would be able to find my way back later, I dropped a pin in the google maps on my iPhone. My exploration strated by walking up a few blocks to Times Square.  Even though Micha and I spent a day in New York a few years back, this was my first visit to Times Square.  I was tempted to get some discount tickets to a show, but not having anyone to share it with, I decided to save my dough.  After crusing aroung Times Square I decided my next stop would be Cental Park, so I headed north on Broadway towards Central Park, stopping on occasion to explore some of the tourist shops.

I spent a few minutes walking in Central Park and was pleasantly surprised at this little oasis in the middle of the craziness of the city.  I would have spent more time in the park, but it started to rain a bit and there was still more of the city to see, so I decided it was time to move on.

Of course since I was in ‘The Big Apple’ I decided that I needed to visit the big Apple store on 5th Ave, so that was my next stop.  Even if you’re not a Apple fan, this is a must see.  All you can see from the street is a rather small glass box.  Once you enter the glass box you then realize that there is a round glass elevator in the middle and some stairs that wrapped around heading down.  At the bottom of the stairs you find yourself in the middle of one of the largest Apple stores that I have been in.  Here is a picture of what the store looks like from the street.

After waiting out the passing shower in the Apple store, I continued to walk thru the streets, pausing to snap a few pictures on my iPhone.  In a place like New York City you are bound to encounter some strange things.  Here is a photo of Elmo just walking around.  I think it might have been past his bedtime, but he didn’t seem to care.  Only a few times did I get approached by someone trying to sell me a genuine ‘rolex’, tickets or drugs. Needless to say I did not make any purchases.

One of my goals was to find something good to have for dinner.  With so many choices, I was having trouble making up my mind.  Finally I decided that I just needed to stop somewhere and I ducked into a BBQ joint that I was passing by.  I can’t remember the name, but it only a few blocks from Times Square and the food was quite good.

My tour continued after my late dinner and was somewhat surprised to see so many shops still open at midnight.  I could have spent a few more hours, and it appeard that there would still be places for me to check out, but seeing as how I had meeting starting at 8 the next morning, I decided to find my way back to the car and head for the hotel.

By this time I had walked down so many streets many were starting to look the same and I wasn’t sure I could remember the way back to where I had parked the  car.  I was thankful that I had taken the time to mark where I parked on my iPhone because I got quick directions and realized that I was only a few blocks away.  For a change of pace, I decided to drive north thru the city. As I got further north, I put the hotel back into the Garmin and this time it directed me across the George Washington bridge. The drive back was quicker than I expected, probably because there was really no traffic at that time of night.

Although I was exahusted the next day and I didn’t get much work done, I’m very glad that I took the night off and explored the city.  Only problem is now I really want to go back with my wife, catch a Broadway show, and share this experience with her.  I guess we’ll just have to make sure a return trip to New York is on our ‘Places to visit list.’  Enjoy.

~ by Michael Sorensen on April 23, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
